The official website for European football

2017/18 WU17 EURO qualifying round draw

There are 44 teams in the 2017/18 UEFA European Women's U17 Championship qualifying round.

2017/18 WU17 EURO qualifying round draw

There are 44 teams in the 2017/18 UEFA European Women's U17 Championship qualifying round.

Group 1 (10–16 October): Switzerland, Poland*, Ukraine, Faroe Islands

Group 2 (14–20 October): England, Scotland, Slovakia, Latvia*

Group 3 (2–8 October): Spain, Iceland, Azerbaijan*, Montenegro

Group 4 (24–30 September): Republic of Ireland, Greece, Romania, Bosnia and Herzegovina*

Group 5 (24–30 September): France, Denmark*, Wales, Kazakhstan

Group 6 (19–22 October): Sweden*, Russia, Croatia, Israel

Group 7 (1–7 October): Czech Republic, Netherlands, Turkey, Estonia*

Group 8 (22–28 September): Norway, Hungary*, Bulgaria, Moldova

Group 9 (23–29 September): Belgium, Serbia*, Belarus, FYR Macedonia

Group 10 (25 September–1 October): Austria, Portugal*, Northern Ireland, Georgia

Group 11 (23–29 October): Italy, Finland, Slovenia*, Malta


Bye to elite round: Germany

Bye to final tournament: Lithuania (hosts)

09:10CET, 11 November, Nyon


Seeding pots & draw procedure
Pot A:
Spain, France, Norway, Italy, Austria, England, Republic of Ireland, Switzerland, Czech Repuiblic, Sweden, Belgium

Pot B: Finland, Netherlands, Scotland, Denmark, Poland, Iceland, Serbia, Russia*, Hungary, Greece, Portugal

Pot C: Belarus, Turkey, Northern Ireland, Slovenia, Slovakia, Wales, Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia, Ukraine*, Azerbaijan

Pot D: Bosnia and Herzegovina, FYR Macedonia, Montenegro, Latvia, Israel, Kazakhstan, Estonia, Moldova, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Malta

* Based on previous decisions of the UEFA Executive Committee and UEFA Emergency Panel, Russia and Ukraine cannot be placed in the same group.

Bye to elite round: Germany

Bye to final tournament: Lithuania (hosts)

Lithuania will stage the fifth final tournament since the expansion to eight teams in summer 2018, following in the footsteps of England, Iceland, Belarus and the Czech Republic, who stage the next finals in May.

• While Lithuania qualify directly for the finals as hosts, the country with the highest rating on the coefficient ranking list (based on results from 2013/14 to 2015/16) receive a bye to the elite round in spring 2018: Germany.

• The remaining 44 entrants will be in the qualifying round, where they will be split into 11 groups of four.

• There are four seeding pots of 11 nations each composed according to the coefficient ranking list. Each group will contain one team from each pot, with hosts then appointed to stage the mini-tournaments between 1 August and 29 October 2017.

The top two in each group and the third-placed team with the best record against the leading pair in their section accompany top seeds Germany into the 24-team elite round. Seven countries will eventually qualify for the finals to join Lithuania.

Road to the final

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: two qualifying rounds and an eight-team final tournament.

Qualifying round
The competition begins with one-venue four-team mini-tournaments, although the nations with the highest UEFA coefficient may be given byes to the elite round. The winners and runners-up of the groups go through along with the required number of third-placed teams with the best record against the first and second-placed teams, to ensure there are 24 sides in the next phase.

Elite round
The 24 teams are drawn into six groups of four teams. The groups are played as one-venue mini-tournaments with the winners and the runners-up with the best record against the teams first and third in their section progressing to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
The eight teams are split into two groups of four. The top two in each group go through to the knockout phase, beginning in the semi-finals.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a knockout match, can be found in the official competition regulations.