The official website for European football

Facts and figures rounds up the crucial statistics for the Under-19 competition, including past winners and hosts, biggest wins and top scorers.
Facts and figures
Ramil Sheydaev scored a record 12 goals in the 2014/15 season ©Sportsfile

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-19 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four teams playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each progress alongside the third-placed team with the best record against the top pair in their group.

Elite round
In the elite round, played in the spring, those 27 qualifiers join the top seed, given a bye, in seven mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners then join the hosts in the finals.

Final tournament

The seven qualifiers plus the hosts are split into two groups of four who play each other once, with the top two progressing to the semi-finals. The winners of those ties contest the final.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.

Facts and figures rounds up the crucial statistics for the Under-19 competition, including past winners and hosts, biggest wins and top scorers.

Records apply only for UEFA European Under-19 Championship (from 2001/02)

Champions (hosts)
2015: Spain (Greece)
Germany (Hungary)
Serbia (Lithuania)
2012: Spain (Estonia)
2011: Spain (Romania)
2010: France (France)
2009: Ukraine (Ukraine)
2008: Germany (Czech Republic)
2007: Spain (Austria)
2006: Spain (Poland)
2005: France (Northern Ireland)
2004: Spain (Switzerland)
2003: Italy (Liechtenstein)
Spain (Norway)

Biggest wins
Qualifying round: Andorra 0-13 Czech Republic, 2001/02
Elite round: Spain 8-1 Cyprus, 2005/06; Portugal 7-0 Bulgaria, 2012/13
Final tournament: Slovenia 1-7 England, 2008/09 group stage

Individual match goalscoring
Tomislav Kiš (Croatia) v Armenia 2012/13, Nicolas Hunzik (Switzerland) v Malta 2014/15
Final tournament
André Silva (Portugal) v Hungary 2013/14
Ali Oztürk (Turkey) v Poland 2003/04, Matt Fryatt (England) v Serbia and Montenegro 2004/05, Yoann Gourcuff (France) v Norway 2004/05, İlhan Parlak (Turkey) v Portugal 2005/06, Juan Mata (Spain) v Turkey 2005/06, David Janczyk (Poland) v Belgium 2005/06, Zvonko Pamić (Croatia) v Portugal 2009/10, Álvaro Morata (Spain) v Serbia 2010/11, Jesé Rodríguez (Spain) v Portugal 2011/12

Season top scorers
2014/15: Ramil Sheydaev (Russia) 12
André Silva (Portugal), Davie Selke (Germany) 11
Anass Achahbar (Netherlands) 9
Betinho (Portugal) 10
Álvaro Morata (Spain) 10
Mattia Destro (Italy) 8
Nathan Delfouneso (England), Yacin Brahimi (France) 7
Michail Pavlis (Greece) 7
Kostas Mitroglou (Greece), Krisztián Németh (Hungary), Adam Rooney (Republic of Ireland) 8
İlhan Parlak (Turkey) 10
Borko Veselinović (Serbia and Montenegro) 11
Olexandr Aliyev (Ukraine), Ali Oztürk (Turkey), Lukasz Piszczek (Poland) 8
Sébastien Grax (France) 9
Kevin Vandenbergh (Belgium) 10

Finals top scorers
Borja Mayoral (Spain) 3
2013/14: Davie Selke (Germany) 6
2012/13: Anass Achahbar (Netherlands), Alexandre Guedes (Portugal), Gratas Sirgėdas (Lithuania) 3
2011/12: Jesé Rodríguez (Spain) 5
2010/11: Álvaro Morata (Spain) 6
2009/10: Daniel Pacheco (Spain) 4
2008/09: Nathan Delfouneso (England) 4
2007/08: Tomáš Necid (Czech Republic) 4
2006/07: Anis Ben-Hatira (Germany), Kévin Monnet-Paquet (France), Kostantinos Mitroglou (Greece) 3
2005/06: Alberto Bueno (Spain), İlhan Parlak (Turkey) 5
2004/05: Borko Veselinović (Serbia and Montenegro) 5
2003/04: Ali Oztürk (Turkey), Lukasz Piszczek (Poland) 4
2002/03: Paulo Sérgio (Portugal) 5
2001/02: Fernando Torres (Spain) 4

All-time top scorers
All matches
Krisztián Németh (Hungary) 14
Kostas Mitroglou (Greece) 12
Ramil Sheydaev (Russia) 12

Final tournaments only
Álvaro Morata (Spain) 6
Davie Selke (Germany) 6

2015/16 qualifying top scorers
Qualifying round: Jean-Kévin Augustin (France), Nany Dimata (Belgium), Anas Mahamid (Israel), Ivan Šaponjić (Serbia) 5
Elite round:
Dominik Prokop (AUstria), Kristian Veber (Denmark) 4
Overall qualifying: Ivan Šaponjić (Serbia) 6

Highest attendances
Qualifying round: Belarus v Wales, Minsk, 2003/04, 7,500
Elite round: Belarus v England, Minsk, 2007/08, 11,000
Final tournament: Germany v Italy, Stuttgart, 2015/16, 54,689

2015/16 highest attendances
Qualifying round: Georgia v Austria, Tbilisi, 1,650
Elite round: Serbia v France, Kragujevac, 6,500
Final tournament: Germany v Italy, Stuttgart, 54,689

Final tournament appearances (max 15)
11 Spain
9 France*
8 England*, Germany*, Portugal*
7 Austria*, Serbia and Montenegro/Serbia
6 Greece
5 Czech Republic, Italy*, Turkey
4 Belgium, Netherlands*, Ukraine
3 Croatia*, Norway
2 Bulgaria, Hungary, Poland, Republic of Ireland, Russia, Switzerland
1 Armenia, Estonia, Georgia, Israel, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Northern Ireland, Romania, Scotland, Slovakia, Slovenia
* Competing at 2016 finals

Last updated: 11/07/16 13.56CET