The official website for European football

Under-19 finals line-up complete

Published: Tuesday 28 March 2017, 21.00CET
England, Germany, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Portugal, Sweden and the Netherlands won their elite round groups to join hosts Georgia in the Under-19 finals in July.
Under-19 finals line-up complete
England celebrate the win against Spain that sealed qualification ©FA

Road to the final

The UEFA European Under-19 Championship consists of three distinct stages: the qualifying round, the elite round and the final tournament.

Qualifying round
The qualifying round, played in autumn, is made up of 13 groups of four teams playing in one-venue mini-tournaments. The top two from each progress.

Elite round
In the elite round, played in the spring, those 26 qualifiers join the top two seeds, given a bye, in seven mini-tournament groups of four. The group winners then join the hosts in the finals.

Final tournament

The seven qualifiers plus the hosts are split into two groups of four who play each other once, with the top two progressing to the semi-finals. The winners of those ties contest the final.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.

Published: Tuesday 28 March 2017, 21.00CET

Under-19 finals line-up complete

England, Germany, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Portugal, Sweden and the Netherlands won their elite round groups to join hosts Georgia in the Under-19 finals in July.

Sweden have clinched the last place in this summer's UEFA European Under-19 Championship, joining six other qualifiers and hosts Georgia in the finals from 2 to 15 July.

Qualifiers (group winners in bold)
Group 1: Netherlands*, Greece, Finland, Ukraine
Group 2: Germany*, Serbia, Slovakia, Iceland
Group 3: England*, Spain, Norway, Belarus
Group 4: Portugal*, Croatia, Turkey, Poland
Group 5: Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Israel, France* (holders)
Group 6: Czech Republic*, Hungary, Austria, Scotland
Group 7: Sweden, Republic of Ireland, Belgium*, Italy

• The seven group winners have joined Georgia in the finals.

• The eight finalists will be divided into two groups of four – Georgia will occupy position 1 in Group A – with the top two teams in each section progressing to the semi-finals.

©Getty Images

Draw: 14:00 local time (12:00CET), 13 April, Tbilisi
Group stage: 2/3, 5/6, 8/9 July
Semi-finals: 12 July
Final: 15 July

Key facts
• Georgia qualified for the 2013 finals – their sole previous U19 appearance.

• England are in the finals for the second season running; before 2016, they had sat out three successive tournaments.

• Bulgaria have reached the finals for the third time, qualifying from a section that included France – meaning the holders miss out for a second year in a row after 2015 champions Spain failed to make the 2016 finals.


Portugal will be in Georgia this summer

• The Czech Republic are in the finals for the first time since finishing runners-up to Spain in 2011.

• Germany, winners in 2008 and 2014, are the only former winners involved in this summer's tournament.

• The Netherlands' four previous final tournament appearances – all from 2010 onwards – ended at the group stage.

• This will be Portugal's tenth finals outing; they have contested the semi-finals or better in three of the last four seasons.

• Sweden have never qualified before, though they did get to the European U17 Championship semi-finals in 2013 and the quarter-finals last year.

Last updated: 13/04/17 12.47CET

Related information

Team profiles