UEFA Futsal EURO Slovenia 2018

Arena Stožice in the Slovenian capital Ljubljana will stage UEFA Futsal EURO 2018 from 30 January to 10 February.

Arena Stožice (Ljubljana)
©Aleš Hostnik

Arena Stožice in the Slovenian capital Ljubljana will stage UEFA Futsal EURO 2018 from 30 January to 10 February.

The hosts
The arena, opened in 2010, has a 12,500 capacity and is home to basketball team KK Olimpija as well as holding the international matches of volleyball side ACH Volley and handball outfit RK Krim. It was the venue for the EuroBasket 2013 finals.

The decision to award the finals was made at the UEFA Executive Committee meeting in Nyon, Switzerland, on 26 January 2015 as the bid from the Football Association of Slovenia (NZS) was selected ahead of others from FYR Macedonia and Romania. This will be the first futsal final tournament organised by Slovenia, although the country hosted the 2012 UEFA European Under-17 Championship.

Slovenia thus follows in the footsteps of previous Futsal EURO hosts Serbia (2016), Belgium (2014), Croatia (2012), Hungary (2010), Portugal (2007), Czech Republic (2005), Italy (2003), Russia (2001) and Spain (the first UEFA European Futsal Championship of 1999 and also the 1996 UEFA European tournament).

Watch seven-goal Spain win the title
Watch Spain win the 2016 title in Belgrade

The competition
Twelve teams will compete in the finals, with Slovenia and 11 qualifiers split into four groups of three, with the top two from each emerging into the knockout phase.

Group A: Slovenia (hosts), Italy, Serbia

Group B: Russia, Kazakhstan, Poland

Group C: Portugal, Ukraine, Romania

Group D: Spain (holders), Azerbaijan, France

Finals schedule (kick-off times CET)
Group stage

Tuesday 30 January
Group A: Slovenia v Serbia (18:00)
Group B: Russia v Poland (20:45)
Wednesday 31 January

Group C: Portugal v Romania (18:00)
Group D: Spain v France (20:45)
Thursday 1 February
Group B: Poland v Kazakhstan (18:00)
Group A: Serbia v Italy (20:45)
Friday 2 February
Group D: France v Azerbaijan (18:00)
Group C: Romania v Ukraine (20:45)
Saturday 3 February
Group B: Kazakhstan v Russia (18:00)
Group A: Italy v Slovenia (20:45)
Sunday 4 February
Group C: Ukraine v Portugal (18:00)
Group D: Azerbaijan v Spain (20:45)

Monday 5 February
QF1: Winner A v Runner-up B (18:00 or 21:00)
QF2: Runner-up A v Winner B (18:00 or 21:00)
Tuesday 6 February
QF3: Winner C v Runner-up D (18:00 or 21:00)
QF4: Runner-up C v Winner D (18:00 or 21:00)

Thursday 8 February
SF1: QF1 v QF3 (18:00 or 21:00)
SF2: QF2 v QF4 (18:00 or 21:00)

Finals day
Saturday 10 February
Third-place play-off (18:00)
Final (20:45)